Funny Money – ANL Shipping Note Trio


23 in stock


Set of Three ‘Funny Money’ Banknotes from 1970 – 1980’s.

The Australian National Line was formed on 1st October 1956 as the Australia Coastal Shipping Commission with the passing of the Australia Coastal Shipping Commission Act.  The organisation took around 40 ships previously operated by the Australian Shipping Board which had been formed in 1946 by the Australian federal Government.  In March 1969 ANL commenced operating services to Japan in a joint venture with K Line.

In 1974 the ACSC was renamed the Australian Shipping Commission in recognition of its international role and continued to trade as ANL.  In 1989 ANL was established as a wholly owned government company and in 1998 the French company CMA CGM purchased the naming rights of ANL Ltd from the Australian Federal Government.  ANL was an early member of the Australian Shipping and Defence Council, now the Australian Maritime Defence Council, established by the Australian Government in 1982.

In 1959 ANL entered the ferry business and Princess of Tasmania was the first roll on/roll off ferry in the Southern Hemisphere and the largest.  She was followed by Bass Trader, Empress of Australia & Australia Trader until 1984.  In 1985 ANL ceased involvement in the passenger ferry trade and concentrated solely on bulk freight and cargo.